Spread the word » Facebook Twitter

DHS Suspends Unjust & Ineffective Immigrant Registration System

April 27, 2011

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) announced today that it will indefinitely suspend the National Security Entry-Exit Registration System (NSEERS) which was instituted in the aftermath of the 9/11 terrorist attacks. NSEERS was a domestic immigration enforcement program targeting men and boys from predominantly Arab- and Muslim-majority nations for extraordinary registration requirements with DHS. Since the program's inception, OneAmerica has joined others in criticizing the program for resulting in racial profiling and the registration, detention, and deportation of Muslim and Arab men.

The following is a statement from OneAmerica Executive Director Pramila Jayapal:

"OneAmerica applauds the long-overdue suspension of the NSEERS (“Special Registration”) program by the Department of Homeland Security. Since the program was instituted in the aftermath of 9/11, OneAmerica has fought vigorously for the rights of those affected by the program and to end the program. 

This program was always based on an unfair targeting of people from particular ethnicities and countries of origin, and never on real evidence. The program did not produce any real results in America’s search for those who seek to do us harm, and instead destroyed many lives, cast unfair suspicion on innocent people, and eroded any trust between affected communities and the government. NSEERS was a sad chapter in our country’s history. Ending the program — while very overdue — is an essential step in the process of restoring justice for all."

Ever since this unjust program was established, OneAmerica (then Hate Free Zone Campaign of Washington) - with your support - has been speaking out against NSEERS and working to eliminate it. Read more.  

DHS Statement

In today's DHS statement announcing the indefinite suspension of the "Special Registration" program, DHS says “As threats to the United States evolve, DHS seeks to identify specific individuals and actions that pose specific threats, rather than focusing on more general designations of groups of  individuals, such as country of origin.”

Those countries include: Afghanistan, Algeria, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Egypt, Eritrea, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, North Korea, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen.

OneAmerica logo
OneAmerica, formerly Hate Free Zone, is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that advances the fundamental principles of democracy and justice by building power within immigrant communities.

Want to unsubscribe? Click here: